Modernites Excellence Awardees 2018

  • Images

    Late Justice Prakash Narain (Posthumously)

    Late Justice Prakash Narain was born on 6 th of August, 1923 and joined the Modern School in 1928, which was the second batch of the school.He passed out from Modern School in 1938 and joined the prestigious St. Stephen College, Delhi. Thereafter, he went on to enroll in the Law College, University of Allahabad.

    Justice Narain’s journey in the legal profession began by enrolling as Pleader in Lahore High court on 23 rd May,1945 and as an Advocate of the Punjab High Court on 15 th March.1948. He worked as Assistant Government Pleader, Delhi and Additional Standing Counsel from 1956 to 1958; Standing Government Counsel, Delhi from 1958 to 1963:Additional Central Government Counsel, Punjab High Court from 1963 to 1967 and Central Government Counsel, Delhi High Court from 1967 to 1969. He was appointed Chief Justice of Delhi High court on 08 th January, 1981 and diligently performed his duties till he attained the age of superannuation on 06 th August.1985.


  • Images

    Mr. Gopalkrishna Gandhi, IAS (Retd.)

    Mr. Gopalkrishna Gandhi, Class of 1961 of Modern School graduated with a master's degree in English literature from St. Stephen's College of Delhi University. Thereafter, he joined IAS as an officer in 1968 and served in Tamil Nadu state till 1985. He remained Secretary to Vice-President of India from1985 to 1987, Joint Secretary to President of India from 1987 to 1992 and also served as Secretary to President of India from 1997 to 2000.He is now a Professor of History and Politics and teach at Ashoka University.

  • Images

    Maj. Gen. Ajay Sood

    Major General (Retd.) Ajay Sood, VSM class of 1961 of Modern School after clearing the Higher Secondary Board Examination in 1961 joined St Stephen’ College, Delhi. However, rather than pursuing an academic career, he chose to join the National Defence Academy, Khadakvasla. On completion of four years of rigorous training he was commissioned into Skinners Horse, one of the oldest Cavalry Regiment. Later in service, he was honoured with the appointment of Colonel of Skinner’s Horse.

    One of the most challenging staff tenure was the posting to the Military Operations Directorate at Army Headquarters during the Sri Lankan Operations and other operations undertaken by the Indian Army during the period 1986 to 1989. He made a significant contribution in planning and coordinating the operations of the Indian Peace Keeping Force in Sri Lanka.

    For his distinguished service of exceptional order you were awarded “Vishisth Sena Medal” by the President of India.

    Finally, after 38 years of distinguished service in the Army, you retired as Additional Director General Mechanised Forces in 2003.

  • Images

    Mr. Aman Nath

    Mr. Aman Nath, Class of 1968 of Modern School is a historian by education, but also a poet, adventurer, restorer, hotelier,designer, author and philanthropist. At the age of 14, He represented Modern School and stood first among 88 countries in the Shankar’s International Art Competition. At 17, He stood 3 rd in the All India Board Examinations. At St. Stephens’ he won the prestigious Annual Literary Award thrice.

    He is the youngest founder member of INTACH and has been actively involved in the restoration of India’s lesser-known architectural ruins, and are the Co-founder and Chairman of the renowned Neemrana Hotels. He received the Lifetime Achievement Award by Ministry of Tourism, Government of India in 2013. He has also received Lifetime Achievement Awards from Murshidabad, Outlook Traveller, Conde Nast and very recently from Anandpur Sahib.

    In 2017, he was appointed Chevalier de l’Ordre national de la Légion d’Honneur (Knight in the National Order of the Legion of Honour) by the President of the French Republic.He has written and contributed to 16 large-format illustrated books , two of which have won national awards.

  • Images

    Prof. Anita Rampal

    Professor Anita Rampal,passed out from Modern School in 1970 and figured among the toppers of the 1970 Board Examinations. She was awarded several prizes that year, and also the National Science Talent Fellowship for higher education, until her Ph.D in Theoretical Particle Physics from Delhi
    University. Thereafter, she was also awarded the Department of Atomic Energy Junior and Senior Fellowships and a Post-doctoral Research Associateship. From the mid seventies she was associated with the Hoshangabad Science Teaching Programme for rural schools in Madhya Pradesh, while she continued her interests in Odissi and classical music.

  • Images

    Mr. Sanjay Mitra IAS

    Mr. Sanjay Mitra, Class of 1975, got his M.Sc degree from St. Stephen’s College in 1980. He went on to become an IAS Officer from the West Bengal Cadre. He spent several years in various parts of West Bengal, serving at key positions such as, District Magistrate, CEO – Kolkata New Town Project,Chairman – West Bengal Electricity Board and Secretary (Health), Government of West Bengal. In 2012, He was appointed Chief Secretary to the Government of West Bengal. In 2016, He became the Union Secretary for Ministry of Road Transport and Highways and currently serving at the prestigious post of Defence Secretary of India.

  • Images

    Dr. Sanjay Sachdeva

    Dr. Sanjay Sachdeva, Class of 1975 of Modern School passed out from school with distinction in all subjects. He went on to graduate from Maulana Azad Medical College and trained further at LNJP Hospital and GB Pant Hospital. He became a trained specialist in Cochlear Implant Programme at Nucleus Cochlear Institution in Australia and Germany. He also trained in Endoscopic Laser Surgery at Tyrome Country Hospital, UK. He worked with renowned institutions like Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi and went on to become Director (ENT) at Fortis Healthcare. In 2010, he took over as Director (ENT) at Max Healthcare.

  • Images

    Mr. Gaurav Ghei

    Gaurav Ghei, Class of 1986 of Modern School started playing golf at a very early age and won the National Junior title in 1986. As an amateur, he won the East India Amateur, West India Amateur and North India Amateur. After mastering the game, he became a professional in 1991. He then clinched the Gadgil Western Masters, one of the four majors on the Asian PG tour and thus emerged as a Golf Star of India.

    He has many other prestigious awards to his credit, some of which are DSJA (Sports Journalist) Award for the best young sportsman in 1984, APPLE Trophy Asian Tour in 1995, Johnnie Walker Award- Asian PGA Tour in 1997, Mahindra Player of the Year – Number 1 Rank Indian Tour in 1997 and Life Time Achievement Award for PGA of India in 2005. The list is endless !